Tournament Logistics: 30 players. 5 Rounds. Top 8.
Before this tournament, I was talking to NEELY on MTG Source about trying out his list with no spice cards (besides the one Nissa, Vital Force, which I couldn’t cut because that card holds a special place in my heart).  This is the list that I piloted.

Creatures:
4x Deathrite Shaman
3x Mother of Runes
1x Bird of Paradise
4x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben
3x Stoneforge Mystic
1x Gaddock Teeg
1x Scavenging Ooze
1x Scryb Ranger
1x Qasali Pridemage
4x Knight of the Reliquary

Non-creature spells:
4x Green Sun’s Zenith
4x Swords to Plowshares
2x Abrupt Decay
1x Sylvan Library
1x Umezawa’s Jitte
1x Sword of Fire and Ice
1x Sword of Light and Shadow

Lands:
4x Wastelands
4x Windswept Heath
3x Verdant Catacombs
2x Bayou
2x Savannah
2x Forest
1x Plans
1x Cavern of Souls
1x Karakas
1x Gaea’s Cradle
1x Scrubland
1x Dryad Arbor

Sideboard:
3x Thoughtseize
2x Ethersworn Canonist
2x Zealous Persecution
2x Choke
1x Surgical Extraction
1x Gaddock Teeg
1x Qasali Pridemage
1x Pithing Needle
1x Garruk Relentless
1x Nissa, Vital Force

Round 1: Death and Taxes

Game 1 I dominated the field by having two knights and sword of light and shadow. Game two I punted a play by blocking a Phyrexian Revoker + Jitte that’s attacking towards a flipped Garruk that has 2 loyality counters on it, with a Scavenging Ooze. I should have just popped the creature with the pridemage that I controlled instead of blocking it. I lost pressure and thus my opponent dominated the game. Game three only had 2 minutes left and we drew.

In: 1x Garruk Relenless, 2x Zealous Persecution, 1x Qasali Pridemage, 1x Pithing Needle
Out: 4x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben, 1x Gaddock Teeg

Round 2: Alluren

Game 1 didn’t know what my opponent was playing when they casted a Glint-Nest Crane (I thought it was a homebrew Food Chain). I had a choice of playing Gaddock Teeg or GSZ for Pridemage. I initially played Gaddock Teeg, thus my opponent couldn’t cast Alluren to win the game. However they found an abrupt decay, and I lost. Game two I found a Scryb Ranger, equipped it with Light and Shadow, and start beating down my opponent, while at the same time keeping them off mana by casting a well-timed Choke. Game three I Thoughtseize their Alluren from the hand, try to established my board state, however, I died from multiple 1/3 flyers and 3/3 Griffins.

In: 3x Thoughtseize, 1x Surgical Extraction, 1x Gaddock Teeg, 1x Pithing Needle
Out: 4x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben, 1x Scavegning ooze, 1x Knight of the Reliquary

Round 3: Death and Taxes

Game 1 I was beaten down by a Flickerwisp until I found a scryb ranger to block and give pro-white with the thanks to mom. The next turn I drew a Knight of Reliquary and started bashing in for damage until there is nothing my opponent could do. Game two a timely Zealous Persecution killed off  my opponent’s Mother of Runes and Phyrexian revoker. The next turn I was able to cast Knight, equip to light and shadow, and proceed to win the game.

Sideboard is the same for the first Death and taxes match-up.

Round 4: Merfolk
My opponent mulliganed down to three cards in hand. My hand had a Stoneforge Mystic that grabbed a Umezawa’s Jitte. My opponent had two True-Name Nemesis on the battlefield. I had a Thalia + Fire and Ice on the battlefield and proceeded to win the game. Game 2 they played two lords to try to beat me down to 2 life. I drew a knight, played knight, equipped knight to the Fire and Ice with the Gaea’s Cradle on the battlefield.  With one swing it knock my opponents life totally down to 0.

2x Zealous Persecution, 2x choke, 1x Qasali Pridemage, 1x Pithing Needle
1x Gaddock Teeg, 1x Scavenging Ooze, 2x Thalia, Guardian of Traben, 1x Stoneforge Mystic, 1x Sword of light and shadow

Round 5: Sea Stompy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_HgxnMTOJw&list=PLc7Lf5kxEk0rHiWjVb5hBOIeHUGPQYQKP&index=5

If you go to that link, you can see my match against Sea Stompy (which I had no idea what that deck was at the time).  I lost, but I had fun. It was a deck that I felt unprepared for.

In: (2x Choke, 2x Zealous Persecution, 1x Qasali Pridemage, 1x Pithing Needle )
Out: (2x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben, 1x Gaddock Teeg, 1x Scavenging Ooze, 1x Stoneforge Mystic, 1x Sword of Light and Shadow)

Overall Summary

I went 14th place with my record being 2-2-1. This is the leanest variant of Maverick that I’ve played in the longest time. I feel that since this deck isn’t running the spicy green-silver bullets like Renegade Railler, Leovold, Emissary of Trest, Tireless Tracker , Courser of Kruipix etc,  the deck is more resilient and consistent. Since I rely on the Stoneforge package more than before, I think it’s time to bring out Batterskull main and move Sword of Light and Shadow to the board.

My next Legacy tournament would probably be the GP Richmond Legacy Challenges next month. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

